Stardustnat's Blog

Pride & Prejudice

Posted on: February 8, 2011

Though I said before that I hadn’t quite decided yet about Keira Knightley in Pirates of the Caribbean, I give her my entire heart in this one. Pride & Prejudice. Based on the novel of none other than the talented Miss Jane Austen. Pride & Prejudice, Harry Potter and Bet me are my trinity of favorite books. Miss Austen not only was a marvelous writer but she was also a visionary, a woman way ahead of her time. It is a shame she died so young. It was a shame, also, that her love was not meant to be. “Becoming Jane”, played by Anne Hatthaway and James McAvoy tells the story of young Jane and her journey to becoming the famous writer. Lovely movie, indeed.
Now, Pride & Prejudice, with the delightful Lizzie Bennett and the righteous Mr. Darcy is a classic. I used to think that the nouns of the title were one for Lizzie (pride) and the other for Darcy (prejudice) but after reading the novel and watching the movie many times, I realized that they are for both characters. They are both to blame for being proud and prejudiced.
I’m adding a bit of the 2005 movie script:
DARCY: Miss Bennett, I have struggled in vain but I can bear it no longer… The past months have been a torment… I came to Rosing with the single object of seeing you… I had to see you…
ELIZABETH: Me?

DARCY: I’ve fought against my better judgment, my family’s expectations… The inferiority of your birth… my rank and circumstance… all those things… But I’m willing to put them aside… and ask you to end my agony…
ELIZABETH: I don’t understand…
DARCY: I love you. Most ardently. Please do me the honor of accepting my hand.
ELIZABETH: Sir, I appreciate the struggle you have been through and I am very sorry to have caused you pain. Believe me, it was unconsciously done.
DARCY: Is this your reply?
ELIZABETH: Yes, sir.
DARCY: Are you laughing at me?
ELIZABETH: No!
DARCY: Are you rejecting me?

ELIZABETH: I’m sure that the feelings which, as you’ve told me, have hindered your regard, will help you in overcoming it.
DARCY: Might I ask why, with so little endeavor at civility, I am thus repulsed?
ELIZABETH: I might as well inquire why, with so evident a design of insulting me, you choose to tell me that you liked me against your better judgment. If I was uncivil, that was some excuse –
DARCY: Believe me, I didn’t mean –
ELIZABETH: But I have other reasons, you know I have!
DARCY: What reasons?
ELIZABETH: Do you think that anything might tempt me to accept the man who has ruined, perhaps forever, the happiness of a most beloved sister? Do you deny it, Mr. Darcy? That you separated a young couple who loved each other, exposing your friend to the censure of the world for caprice, and my sister to its derision for disappointed hopes, and involving them both in misery of the acutest kind?
DARCY: I do not deny it.
ELIZABETH: How could you do it?
DARCY: Because I believed your sister indifferent to him.
ELIZABETH: Indifferent?
DARCY: I watched them most carefully, and realized his attachment was much deeper than hers.
ELIZABETH: That’s because she’s shy!
DARCY: Bingley too is modest, and was presuaded that she didn’t feel strongly for him.
ELIZABETH: Because you suggested it!
DARCY: I did it for his own good.
ELIZABETH: My sister hardly shows her true feelings to me! I suppose you suspect that his fortune had some bearing on the matter?
DARCY: No! I wouldn’t do your sister the dishonor. Though it was suggested –
ELIZABETH: What was?
DARCY: It was made perfectly clear that… an advantageous marriage…
ELIZABETH: Did my sister give that impression?
DARCY: No! There was, however, I have to admit… the matter of your family –
ELIZABETH: Our want of connection? Mr. Bingley didn’t vex himself about that!
DARCY: No, it was more than that.
ELIZABETH: How, sir?
DARCY: It pains me to say this, but it was the lack of propriety shown by your mother, your three younger sisters – even, on occasion your father. Forgive me. You and your sister – I must exclude from this…
ELIZABETH: And what about Mr. Wickham?
DARCY: Mr. Wickham?
ELIZABETH: What excuse can you give for your behavior to him?
DARCY: You take an eager interest in that gentleman’s concerns!
ELIZABETH: He told me of his misfortunes.
DARCY: Oh yes, his misfortunes have been very great indeed!
ELIZABETH: You have ruined his chances, and yet treat him with sarcasm?
DARCY: So, this is your opinion of me! Thank you for explaining so fully. Perhaps these offenses might have been overlooked, if your pride had not been hurt –
ELIZABETH: My pride?
DARCY: – but my honesty in admitting scruples about our relationship. Could you expect me to rejoice in the inferiority of your circumstances?
ELIZABETH: And those are the words of a gentleman? From the first moment I met you, your arrogance and conceit, your selfish disdain of the feelings of others, made me realized that you were the last man in the world I could ever be prevailed upon to marry.
DARCY: Forgive me, madam, for taking up so much of your time.


Via Walking in Daydreams

Leave a Reply

Posting Calendar

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
